Romeo & Juliet

FRI-SAT, APRIL 27-28 | 8PM
SUN, APRIL 29 | 7:30PM

Passion and poetry, dances and swordfights, comedy and tragedy, and a romance for the ages—the brilliance of Shakespeare is made even more powerful with evocative orchestral music by a dozen different composers. Experience Romeo & Juliet like never before, when the North Carolina Symphony and UNC School of the Arts meld together music and drama in a unique, semi-staged theatrical production destined to be the event of the season.


The score for includes selections from the following works (not listed in performance order).

Berlioz: Scene d’Amour from Romeo and Juliet
Berlioz: Waltz from Symphonie fantastique
Delius: The Walk to the Paradise Garden from A Village Romeo and Juliet
Philip Glass: Company
Kabalevsky: Romeo and Juliet
Arvo Pärt: Cantus in Memory of Benjamin Britten
Prokofiev: Romeo and Juliet
Puccini: Chrysanthemums
Kaija Saariaho: Nymphea
Shostakovich: Chamber Symphony in C Minor
Sibelius: Tapiola
Wagner: Liebestod from Tristan und Isolde

The following publisher acknowledgements were inadvertently omitted from the printed program. We apologize for this omission.

Use of the music from Prokofiev, Romeo and Juliet, Kabablevsky, Romeo and Juliet, Saariaho, Nymphea, Sibelius, Tapiola, and Shostakovich, Chamber Symphony, is by arrangement with G, Schirmer, Inc., publisher and copyright holder.

Use of the music from Philip Glass, Company for Strings, is by arrangement with Dunvagen Music, publisher and copyright holder.

Use of the music from Arvo Pärt, Cantus in Memory of Benjamin Britten, is by arrangement with European American Music Distributors Company, U.S. and Canadian agent for Universal Edition Vienna, publisher and copyright holder.