North Carolina Symphony
< MAY >
Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa
  2 3 4
8 9
14 15 16 17
21 22 23 24 25 26
28 29 30 31      
Full Statewide Concert Calendar
View Concerts by Series

Plan Your Visit: Pre & Post-Concert Activities

Expand your concert experience with these free pre-concert, intermission and post-concert offerings.


Conductors, guest artists and selected Symphony members sit down to offer their insights on the evening’s program and answer your questions.

RALEIGH
Swalin Lobby, Meymandi Concert Hall, 7:00pm
Please note new start time for this season


Rachmaninoff's Piano Concerto No. 1
Friday, September 23, 2016
Saturday, September 24, 2016
The Planets: Live
Friday, November 18, 2016
Saturday, November 19, 2016
Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 4
Friday, January 6,2017
Saturday, January 7, 2017
Mozart's Birthday
Friday, January 27, 2017
Saturday, January 28, 2017*
Kennedy Center Bon Voyage!
Friday, March 24, 2017
Britten's War Requiem
Friday, April 7, 2017
Saturday, April 8, 2017
Russian Nights
Friday, May 19, 2017
Saturday, May 20, 2017

*this event will be held in Meymandi Concert Hall

RALEIGH FRIDAY FAVORITES
Meymandi Concert Hall, 11am

Bach's Double Violin Concerto
Friday, November 11, 2016
Ives Symphony No. 2
Friday, February 24, 2017


SOUTHERN PINES
Pinecrest High School Band Room, 7pm
Hosted by Josiah Stevenson

Bach's Double Violin Concerto
Saturday, November 12, 2016
All Mozart
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Russian Nights
Thursday, May 18, 2017




Engaging conversations with classical music experts offer insights on your concert’s featured composers, as well as an insider’s guide on what to listen for.

RALEIGH
Swalin Lobby, Meymandi Concert Hall, 7pm
With North Carolina Symphony Associate Conductor David Glover or Dr. Jonathan Kramer, North Carolina State University

 
Dvořák's Symphony No.5
Friday, October 7, 2016
Saturday, October 8, 2016
Enigma Variations
Friday, October 21, 2016
Saturday, October 22, 2016
Copland Classics
Friday, November 4, 2016
Saturday, November 5, 2016
Messiah Choruses and More
Friday, December 2, 2016
Saturday, December 3, 2016
Rimsky-Korsakov's Scheherazade
Friday, February 10, 2017
Saturday, February 11, 2017
Mozart's Sinfonia Concertante
Friday, March 3, 2017
Saturday, March 4, 2017
Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 4
Saturday, March 11, 2017
Beethoven's Ninth
Friday, April 21, 2017
Saturday, April 22, 2017
Schubert's "The Great" Symphony
Friday, April 28, 2017
Saturday, April 29, 2017


RALEIGH FRIDAY FAVORITES
Meymandi Concert Hall, 11am
With North Carolina Symphony Associate Conductor David Glover or Dr. Jonathan Kramer, North Carolina State University
 
Dvořák's Symphony No.5
Friday, October 7, 2016
Messiah Choruses and More
Friday, December 2, 2016
All Mozart
Friday, February 3, 2017
Brahms Symphony No. 1
Friday, May 12, 2017


CHAPEL HILL
Gerrard Hall, UNC-Chapel Hill, 6:30pm
With Dr. Letitia Glozer, UNC-Chapel Hill
 
Rachmaninoff's Piano Concerto No. 1
Thursday, September 22, 2016
Dvořák's Symphony No.5
Sunday, October 9, 2016
Mozart's Birthday
Sunday, January 29, 2017
Mozart's Sinfonia Concertante
Monday, March 6, 2017
Schubert's "The Great" Symphony
Thursday, April 27, 2017


CHAPEL HILL EVENING OVERTURES
Gerrard Hall, UNC-Chapel Hill, 6:30pm
Occasional chamber music performances and discussions allow for a deeper exploration of the music. Generous support for Evening Overtures has been provided by The Hulka Fund for Chamber Music.

Bach's Double Violin Concerto
Sunday, November 13, 2016
Rimsky-Korsakov's Scheherazade
Saturday, February 25, 2017
Beethoven & Brahms
Thursday, May 11, 2017


WILMINGTON
Wilson Center, Cape Fear Community College, 6:30pm
With Dr. Barry Salwen, UNC-Wilmington

Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No. 1
Sunday, September 25, 2017
Holst: The Planets
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Rimsky-Korsakov's Scheherazade
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Beethoven's Ninth
Sunday, April 23, 2017
The Pirates of Penzance
Sunday, May 7, 2017


SOUTHERN PINES
Pinecrest High School Band Room, 7pm
With Timothy Haley, Sandhills Community College

Dvořák's Symphony No.5
Friday, September 30, 2016
Blockbuster Film Scores
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 4
Saturday, April 1, 2017


NEW BERN
Riverfront Convention Center 2nd Floor, 6:30pm
With Dr. Barry Salwen, UNC-Wilmington

Dvořák's Symphony No.5
Sunday, October 2, 2016
Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 4
Saturday, March 12, 2017
Russian Nights
Wednesday, May 10, 2017


The Symphony occasionally hosts an interactive and casual Q&A session following performances. Join in an engaging conversation with the conductor, guest artists and select Symphony musicians at the front of the concert hall immediately following your concert.

Visit your concert's event page for further detail on the post-concert offerings scheduled for your performance, or listen to pre-concert announcements detailing the evening's events.


Have a burning question? The Symphony is here to help.

Look for the Ask A Musician sign in Raleigh in the Meymandi Concert Hall lower lobby, in Southern Pines in front of the Lee Auditorium stage and in New Bern to the right of the New Bern Riverfront Convention Center stage. During intermission, Symphony musicians will be nearby to answer your questions.


All events listed above are subject to change. For the most up-to-date information, click on your concert date on the Symphony’s online events calendar, ncsymphony.org/events.

Copyright © 2001-2017 North Carolina Symphony | Web Design & Development by ClickCulture