North Carolina Symphony
< JUNE >
Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa
4 5 6 8
11 12 16
18 19 20 21 23
25 26 27 28 29  
Full Statewide Concert Calendar
View Concerts by Series

About Us: Press Releases

North Carolina Symphony Music Director Grant Llewellyn to Speak at Fearrington, Sept. 27

Posted: August 24, 2011
North Carolina Symphony Music Director Grant Llewellyn is hard to pin down. The charming Welsh conductor and artistic leader of the state’s premier orchestra is also one of the music world’s most sought-after conductors. He led the North Carolina Symphony in a concerts in Chapel Hill, Cary, Jacksonville, New Bern and Tarboro that raised more than $9,500 for Red Cross disaster relief; taught students at the Brevard Music Center in the Blue Ridge Mountains; and conducted the Royal Scottish National Orchestra in a concert at Glamis Castle in Dundee, Scotland…and that was just his June and July.

He takes a break from his busy schedule to share his stories from the conductor’s life and offer an inside guide to the Symphony’s 2011/12 concert season. Join this leading light for an intimate discussion of the orchestra world, from his success in bringing some of the world’s finest musicians to the Triangle to his efforts to break new artistic ground with one of North Carolina’s finest treasures.

The talk is held in partnership with Fearrington Friends of the Arts as the inaugural program of its new season of cultural offerings. It will be held at The Gathering Place in Fearrington on Tuesday, Sept. 27, at 1:30 p.m.

Annual FFA dues are $15. Guests may attend for a $5 door-fee on a space-available basis.

The North Carolina Symphony’s 2011/12 season opens on Thursday, Sept. 8, in Raleigh’s Meymandi Concert Hall with a powerhouse orchestral program headlined by Mozart’s Requiem. The Symphony first comes to Chapel Hill on Friday, Sept. 9, with a special event performance of selections from the Requiem concert. The concert will be held at Chapel Hill Bible Church at 8:00 p.m.

The Symphony’s Chapel Hill Series begins with a visit by fan favorite pianist Pascal Rogé performing playful masterworks by Mozart and Poulenc on Sunday, Oct. 2, at 8:00 p.m. Other 2011/12 Chapel Hill concerts include the New World Symphony, a celebration of “Beethoven and Beyond,” an in-depth musical exploration of Argentina and the tango and more.

View the complete Chapel Hill Series schedule and purchase tickets by visiting or calling Symphony Audience Services at 919.733.2750 or toll free 877.627.6724. All Chapel Hill Series concerts take place at Memorial Hall on the campus of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.


Copyright © 2001-2017 North Carolina Symphony | Web Design & Development by ClickCulture