North Carolina Symphony
< JUNE >
Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa
4 5 6 8
11 12 16
18 19 20 21 23
25 26 27 28 29  
Full Statewide Concert Calendar
View Concerts by Series

About Us: Press Releases

North Carolina Remembers 9/11; North Carolina Symphony Performance and Broadcast to be presented on September 11, 2011

Posted: August 03, 2011
North Carolina Symphony Music Director Grant Llewellyn announced today “North Carolina Remembers 9/11” at Meymandi Concert Hall in the Progress Energy Center for the Performing Arts on September 11, 2011, at 7:00 p.m.

“North Carolina Remembers 9/11” is presented on the occasion of the tenth anniversary of September 11, 2001, in cooperation with WRAL-TV/Capitol Broadcasting, UNC-TV and the Triangle Interfaith Alliance.

“This important event is a way for all of us to commemorate the tragic events of September 11, 2001, and honor those who lost their lives,” said Governor Beverly Perdue.

“North Carolina Remembers 9/11” integrates music and the spoken word. The program of music includes selections from the Mozart Requiem, as well as an excerpt from Raleigh composer J. Mark Scearce’s This Thread, based on a poem by Toni Morrison titled “The Dead of September 11.” The North Carolina Symphony will be joined by the North Carolina Master Chorale and vocal soloists Dominique Labelle, soprano, and Krista River, mezzo-soprano. Former Good Morning America host and broadcast voice of the North Carolina Symphony David Hartman and WRAL news anchor David Crabtree will also participate.

“I am very happy that the North Carolina Symphony is collaborating with so many other North Carolinians to recognize the tenth anniversary of 9/11,” said Symphony Music Director Grant Llewellyn. “Music has the unique ability to bring people together, crossing all boundaries of culture and creed with ease. It also has the power to sooth, heal and inspire, and no music achieves this better than Mozart’s eternal Requiem.”

“North Carolina Remembers 9/11” will be broadcast live on UNC-EX, the Explorer Channel, at 7:00 p.m., with a repeat broadcast on UNC-TV at 10:30 p.m., and on WRAL-TV following the conclusion of CBS’s 60 Minutes telecast, at 8:00 p.m.

Admission to the concert is free, but tickets are required. Tickets will be available on a first-come, first-served basis beginning at 10:00 a.m. on Monday, August 22, through North Carolina Symphony Audience Services in person; by phone at 919.733.2750 or toll free 877.627.6724; or online at There is a limit of 2 tickets per person.

Meymandi Concert Hall is located in the Progress Energy Center for the Performing Arts, 2 E. South St., in Raleigh.


Copyright © 2001-2017 North Carolina Symphony | Web Design & Development by ClickCulture